2019 Annual Symposium

Memphis, Tennessee
April 14, 2019


7:30 – 8:00 a.m. Registration and Continental Breakfast
8:00 – 8:15 a.m.


Lawrence F. Hill, D.D.S., M.P.H., Executive Director, American Association for Community Dental Programs (AACDP), AACDP, Dublin, OH

8:15 – 9:15 a.m.

Exemplary Tennessee Community-Based Programs

Moderator: Lawrence F. Hill, D.D.S., M.P.H., Executive Director, AACDP, Dublin, OH

State-Supported Community-Based Prevention
Veran Fairrow, D.D.S., M.P.H., Director, Oral Health Services, Tennessee Department of Health, Nashville, TN

From Church Basement to National Attention
Rhonda Switzer-Nadasdi, D.M.D., Chief Executive Officer, Interfaith Dental Clinic of Nashville, Nashville, TN

9:30 – 11:00 a.m.

What’s New in CDC, HRSA, and USPHS, and How Can We Help You?

Moderator: Myron Allukian Jr., D.D.S, M.P.H., At-Large Member, AACDP, and consultant, Boston, MA

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Perspective
Casey Hannan M.P.H., Director (Acting), Division of Oral Health, CDC, Atlanta, GA

Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) Perspective
Renee Joskow, D.D.S., M.P.H., FAGD, Senior Advisor for Oral Health, HRSA, Rockville, MD

United States Public Health Service (USPHS)
Rear Admiral Timothy Ricks, D.D.S., M.P.H., Chief Dental Officer and Assistant Surgeon General, USPHS, Washington, DC

11:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.

AACDP Awards Ceremony

Moderator: Myron Allukian Jr., D.D.S, M.P.H., At-Large Member, AACDP, and consultant, Boston, MA

Myron Allukian Jr. Lifetime Achievement Award for Outstanding Contributions in Community Dental Programs
Recipient: Jay Kumar, D.D.S., M.P.H.

John P. Rossetti Community Oral Health Impact Award
Recipient: Michael J. Helgeson, D.D.S.

11:45 a.m. – 1:15 p.m.

Lunch with the Bunch

Join AACDP speakers and participants for informal conversation and networking.

1:30 – 3:00 p.m.

Interprofessional Integration of Oral Health in Primary Care: What’s Happening Across the Country

Moderator: Lawrence F. Hill D.D.S., M.P.H., Executive Director, AACDP, Dublin, OH

The National Interprofessional Initiative on Oral Health: Readying an Interprofessional Workforce for Collaborative Practice
Anita Guhl-Glicken M.S.W., Associate Dean and Professor Emerita, University of Colorado School of Medicine, Aurora, CO, and Executive Director, National Interprofessional Initiative in Oral Health

OHNEP: The Nursing Voice for Interprofessional Oral Health Education and Practice
Judith Haber, Ph.D., APRN-BC, FAAN, Ursula Springer Leadership Professor in Nursing, Rory Meyers College of Nursing, New York University, New York, NY

Medical-Dental Interprofessional Practice: One State’s Practical Examples
Hugh Silk M.D., M.P.H., Professor, Department of Family Medicine and Community Health, UMASS Medical School and Co-Principal Investigator, Center for Integration of Primary Care and Oral Health, Amherst, MA

3:00 – 4:30 p.m.

The Evolving Workforce: What Can We Learn from the Recent Past to Have a Greater Impact on the Near Future?

Moderator: Caswell Evans, D.D.S., M.P.H., Associate Dean for Prevention and Public Health Sciences, University of Illinois at Chicago, College of Dentistry

Is Our Dental System Stuck and What Do We Do About It?
Cassandra Yarbrough, M.P.P., Lead Public Policy Analyst,
American Dental Association Health Policy Institute, Chicago, IL

Community Dental Health Coordinators: What Do They Do and How Do We Know It’s Working?
Steven P. Geiermann, D.D.S., Senior Manager, Access, Community Oral Health Infrastructure, and Capacity; Council on Access, Prevention, and Interprofessional Relations; American Dental Association, Chicago, IL

Improving Oral Health Using Telehealth-Connected Teams: On the Road to Value-based Care
Paul Glassman, D.D.S., M.A., M.B.A., Professor of Dental Practice and Director, Community Oral Health and Director, Pacific Center for Special Care, Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry, University of the Pacific, San Francisco, CA

Dental Therapy Model Legislation: Blue Ribbon Committee Report for Bringing National Consistency
Bob Russell, D.D.S., M.P.H., State Public Health Dental Director and Chief, Bureau of Oral and Health Delivery Systems, Iowa Department of Public Health, Des Moines, IA

4:30 p.m. Adjourn


Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Back to Top